Post Script: Hush – Anne Frasier

“The mind is such an amazing universe.”

Hush

Anne Frasier

Belfry Press

ISBN: 9781475094862

 

 

Description:

What’s your greatest fear?

It’s criminal profiler Ivy Dunlap’s job to unravel the psyches of the most dangerous men alive. None haunts her dreams more than the killer who took her son’s life sixteen years ago, then silently disappeared into the dark. Now an urgent request for help from the Chicago police has reawakened Ivy’s greatest nightmare. The Madonna Murderer has returned to fulfill his calling. This time Ivy understands the killer and will face her greatest fear to stop him from killing again.

 

Publishers Weekly

Few serial killers penned by suspense writers today are as warped or as fully realized as the Madonna Murderer, who preys on newborn baby boys and their unwed mothers. As if the crime itself isn’t bad enough, the killer leaves a musical snow globe that plays “Hush, Little Baby” in the infant’s crib as his calling card. It has been nearly two decades since Ivy Dunlap and her infant son were victimized by the Madonna Murderer. Unbeknownst to the killer, Ivy survived the assault. Her baby didn’t. Now a respected criminal psychologist, Ivy is called into service by the Chicago P.D. when the killer resurfaces after 16 years of dormancy. Her personal interest in the case takes on a sharper edge when she learns that her partner, Detective Max Irving, has a son named Ethan who is the same age her child would have been had he survived. When Ivy tries to rattle the Madonna Murderer by publishing a “dead-baby letter” in the newspaper, the killer becomes more daring; he befriends Ethan, sends Ivy a chunk of his skin bearing a tattoo and expands his profile of victims. Although some readers may be turned off by the novel’s graphic nature, a wealth of procedural detail, a heart-thumping finale and two scarred but indelible protagonists make this a first-rate debut.

About the author:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR

BARNES & NOBLE BESTSELLING AUTHOR

RITA AWARD AUTHOR (SUSPENSE)

AMAZON.COM BESTSELLING AUTHOR

 

My View:

 

 

I was drawn to this book by the amazing cover art and discovered a fantastic police procedural/psychological thriller. This book has great pacing, in-depth character development, a creepy villain and protagonists you will empathise with and enjoy reading about; I really enjoyed this read.

 

And the point of difference in this particular read is that the writer acknowledges the pain and effect that being party to a serious crime, whether as a witness, whether that be discovering a victim, whether you are one of the first responders, or work in a crime related field or are related to the victim of a crime “ that touch left latent prints that would never, ever go away…no matter what they’d gone through – loss of a parent, loss of a sibling- they wouldn’t be able to understand the darkness and fear.”

13 thoughts on “Post Script: Hush – Anne Frasier

  1. Carol – Sounds like a potent story. And it’s interesting how very popular that theme of being called to solve a crime committed by someone who victimised one’s own family has become. I’m glad you enjoyed this.

    • No I think this one is just right for you! It doesn’t dwell on the “act” is about the characters…but the ending might just make you smile in a mad kinda way 🙂 No spoilers …I was trying to put this in a sub genre and I couldn’t -kind of modern day a “classic”. With a satisfying ending.

  2. I’m always drawn toward books that speak to me through their covers, mood, tone, style and so much more is conveyed. I’ve sat in many courtrooms over the years and seen the impact of crime on many sides, this looks like a good read. Thanks for featuring it Carol.

    • Hi June
      This cover is amazing…art in itself.
      What genre do you favour to read? As you might have noticed I like crime fiction but I also like contemporary reads – well written reads that engage me, or allow me to walk in someone else’s shoes for a short while.

  3. I chuckled about your query as my WordPress blog – Murder in Common – follows your blog 🙂 However, my second love is science fiction which I read to refresh my brain. My most recent post is about a trilogy that combines the two genres. Have a peek when you get a chance.

    • aha – I didn’t connect your name with your blog name. Murder in Common is a pretty big clue:) I don’t read much science fiction these days – but have read a little in the past…I have become very aware recently that by labelling a read or reading a label I often deny myself a good experience; for example I mentioned to someone I don’t like historical fiction and she asked had I read…The Secret Keeper Kate Morton – I had and I enjoyed this but I didn’t consider it “historical”, she did. I cant recall the last SF I read – maybe some short stories – by Stephen King? I don’t have an understanding of current SF trends/styles/authors ( and maybe when I read the Stephen King shorts I didn’t think of it as SF) I will have to have a peek at your post.

Leave a Reply

