Post Script: I Was Here – Gayle Forman

This is a book that should be on the reading lists of every high school and stocked by every public library. It should be read by every book club.

I Was Here

I Was Here

Gayle Foreman

Simon & Schuster

ISBN: 9781471124396

 

Description:

From the bestselling author of If I Stay – this summer’s YA blockbuster film.

 

This characteristically powerful novel follows eighteen-year-old Cody Reynolds in the months following her best friend’s shocking suicide.

 

As Cody numbly searches for answers as to why Meg took her own life, she begins a journey of self-discovery which takes her to a terrifying precipice, and forces her to question not only her relationship with the Meg she thought she knew, but her own understanding of life, love, death and forgiveness.

 

A phenomenally moving story, I Was Here explores the sadly all-too-familiar issue of suicide and self-harm, addressing it in an authentic way with sensitivity and honesty.

 

 

 

My View:

I am a recent convert to the YA genre and it is because of novels like this that I have been convinced to extend my reading habits to embrace this style of powerful narrative. And powerful this is; through embraceable characters on a journey of healing after tragedy we are forced to think about a subject that is largely taboo or hidden in contemporary society – teenage suicide. I Was Here peels away and discards the layers of shame and myth surrounding teenage depression and suicide and opens a door for meaningful discussion – a problem shared is …an opportunity to create or at least move toward positive change. Dealing with depression isn’t easy but there are avenues to explore to assist all those concerned, you just have to take that first step – a simple discussion with someone who can help or who can direct you to help. If this book does no more than open a dialogue about these issues then it has succeeded; that this novel is engaging, well written, intelligent and insightful without being morbid, maudlin or depressing is a credit to the author’s talent. Read it. Just read it.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Post Script: I Was Here – Gayle Forman

  1. So glad you thought this was a well-done book, Carol. I think we do need to have meaningful discussions of teen suicide and what the consequences are. We need to do so without sensationalism or sugarcoating, and that’s not always easy. It’s good to see that there are YA novels out there that respect the topic.

  2. Your recommendation has sold me. This is an incredibly important and often misinterpreted or even ignored subject which we all need to understand better. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Some excellent thoughts there Carol. I read I Was Here recently and I think that you’re quite right, books like this really do open up discussion about things that may otherwise be swept under the carpet, ignored, or left as the elephant in the room.

  4. I do want to read this Carol and thanks to you I’ve only just realised why I’ve been getting this book and If I Stay mixed up. (I hadn’t known they were by the same author!)

    D’oh!

Leave a Reply

