Post Script: The Chimes – Anna Smaill

A book that defies labels and is a fantastic read.

The Chimes

The Chimes

Anna Smaill

Sceptre

Hodder & Stoughton

Hachette

ISBN: 9781444794533

 

Description:

The Chimes is set in a reimagined London, in a world where people cannot form new memories, and the written word has been forbidden and destroyed.

In the absence of both memory and writing is music.

In a world where the past is a mystery, each new day feels the same as the last, and before is blasphony, all appears lost. But Simon Wythern, a young man who arrives in London seeking the truth about what really happened to his parents, discovers he has a gift that could change all of this forever.

A stunning literary debut by poet and violinist Anna Smaill, The Chimes is a startlingly original work that combines beautiful, inventive

 

My View:

If anybody had pointed out to me that this novel was a dystopian read I may have thought twice about reading – I was under the false impression that I would not enjoy a dystopian novel, that the sci fi element would not be realistic or believable, the future would not be something I could relate to, I don’t know where that prejudice came from but it is there. I am glad no one pointed out the genre to me. With no knowledge of the author and after reading a limited “blurb” that hooked me with its allusion to a mystery and the seeking of truth; I picked up a book that defies labels and was a fantastic read.

This book is:

Unique

Enchanting

Mesmerising

Lyrical

Engaging

Poetic

And fascinating. I loved the rhythm, the beautifully written prose, the quest, the discoveries, the optimism and the relationships, the visual and melodic aspects of this book. I am so pleased I picked up this book and discovered this amazing read.

8 thoughts on “Post Script: The Chimes – Anna Smaill

  1. This certainly sounds like a really unusual book, Carol. I’m not generally one for dystopian fiction myself (although there are a few exceptions I’ve found). It’s interesting how in this case, music is woven into the story; you don’t see that as often in this sort of novel. And it’s good to hear that you liked the quality and ‘flow’ of the writing. I’ll be frank: I’m not sure this is for me. But I do give the author credit for innovation.

  2. Hehe! You slipped into sci-fi/fantasy by accident and enjoyed it! I must say it’s a genre that goes all the way from totally brilliant and thought-provoking to total nonsense, so I’m glad this one turned out to be one of the better ones. I get a bit fed up with dystopian fiction, there’s so much of it, but there are some great exceptions…

  3. I didn’t love this as much as you. I could appreciate the beauty of the language, but I did worry that Smaill might put readers off by being a bit too clever. Not sure.

    PS It’s the first dystopian novel I’ve ever read!!!

  4. Pingback: Rearview Mirror: March 2015 | The Aroma of Books

Leave a Reply

