Coming Soon….

I will soon be reading and reviewing Hummer Boy B  by Ruth Dugdall – this is the third novel by this author that I will  have read – I am a keen follower of her work, she writes powerful, insightful crime fiction narratives informed by her  work as a probation officer in prisons for serious offenders.   This is guaranteed to be a thought provoking read. I cant wait to start it.  The book is due for release in April 2015 by Legend Press – pre order now.

Hummer Boy B

Description:

A child is killed after falling from the Humber Bridge. Despite fleeing the scene, two young brothers are found guilty and sent to prison. Upon their release they are granted one privilege only, their anonymity. Probation officer Cate Austin is responsible for Humber Boy B’s reintegration into society. But the general public’s anger is steadily growing, and those around her are wondering if the secret of his identity is one he actually deserves to keep. Cate’s loyalty is challenged when she begins to discover the truth of the crime. She must ask herself if a child is capable of premeditated murder. Or is there a greater evil at play?

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Coming Soon….

  1. I’ve had The James Version & The Woman Before Me, in my TBR pile for over a year. I love a good psychological mystery novel. Time for me to take a break from my book clubs so that I can read some of my own picks 🙂
    Just like Margot, I too, am eagerly awaiting your review!

  2. This one does have an interesting premise – based from the sounds of it on the real case of the murderers in the Bulger case over here. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it…

      • Yes, I didn’t follow it properly but he was out on license, I believe, and got caught with photos of kids on his computer or something. I suspect this one veers away from the real story, since as far as I know there’s never been any doubt about the guilt of the two boys in the real case.

      • I think that this one is more an account about what happens after their release…and more…should be interesting as I know this author always adds a little something confronting/challenging to the narrative to make you think.

Leave a Reply

