Post Script: Second Life – S J Watson

Hate, love, hate….I cant make up my mind.

Second Life

Second Life

Give Feedback

S J Watson

Random House UK, Transworld Publishers

Doubleday

ISBN: 9780857520197

 

Description:

The sensational new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep . . .

She loves her husband. She’s obsessed by a stranger.

She’s a devoted mother. She’s prepared to lose everything.

She knows what she’s doing. She’s out of control.

She’s innocent. She’s guilty as sin.

She’s living two lives. She might lose both.

 

My View:

This is a very difficult book to review- I had a hate – love – hate relationship with this one. The beginning was way too slow and at one point I even considered putting this one down and not finishing but I didn’t and I finished it and now not sure how I feel. The introduction, way to slow and too long, too much detail that dis not serve any real purpose that I could see except for suggesting that Julia had an addictive personality i.e. easily became addictive – drugs, alcohol and emotional attachments …then the pace rapidly changed – the descriptions here were so realistic – the emotional attachments, excitement, the thrills, the risks…then came the growing doubts, the creepy behaviours, the fear, the bullying, the stalking and more doubts. I was glued to the pages.

 

How does SJ Watson get his female protagonist’s feeling so right? Brilliant.

 

The next few chapters became increasingly tense, the atmosphere electric. I keep screeching – “No No don’t go there! Keep away.” Did Julia listen? No. Things went from bad to worse…rapidly.

 

The conclusion was tense and yet somewhat unsatisfying. So many threads left hanging.

 

So my dilemma – how do I rate this book? It has some excellent moments, some characters you love to hate (and actually not many you like), it has action, tension and excitement but an introduction that is strung out and boring and an ending that is unsatisfactory. I think this is a novel that will divide its readers. Some will love it, some will hate it…and me …I can’t make up my mind.

5 thoughts on “Post Script: Second Life – S J Watson

  1. This one sounds like a great choice for a book club, Carol, just on that score. It sounds like there’s lots to think about. To be honest, it doesn’t sound like one for me, but I can see why you liked parts of it.

Leave a Reply

