Post Script: The Lost Swimmer – Ann Turner

The Lost Swimmer

The Lost Swimmer

Ann Turner

Simon & Schuster (Australia)

ISBN: 9781925030860

 

Description:

Rebecca Wilding, an archaeology professor, traces the past for a living.

But suddenly, truth and certainty are turning against her. Rebecca is accused of serious fraud, and worse, she suspects – she knows – that her husband, Stephen, is having an affair.

Desperate to find answers, Rebecca leaves with Stephen for Greece, Italy and Paris, where she can uncover the conspiracy against her, and hopefully win Stephen back to her side, where he belongs. There’s too much at stake – her love, her work, her family.

But on the idyllic Amalfi Coast, Stephen goes swimming and doesn’t come back.

In a swirling daze of panic and fear, Rebecca is dealt with fresh allegations. And with time against her, she must uncover the dark secrets that stand between her and Stephen, and the deceit that has chased her halfway around the world.

 

My View:

This is a another book that is a slow burn – it took me a very long time to get involved in this narrative and after I finished reading I was not sure what the book was trying to achieve, what genre this was trying to fit into- mystery, thriller, romance…there was a little bit of everything here. My biggest issue with the narrative was about the relationship between Rebecca and her husband Stephen – for a relationship that was largely rock solid, supportive and trusting (at least at the beginning of the book and at the point the investigation of fraud begins) I could not believe that Rebecca would withhold details of this major investigation from her husband, it just didn’t make sense to me and I could not suspend my disbelief to go along with this aspect of the narrative. I know she was sworn to secrecy but….I just could not accept this. Further there were too many red herrings, too many threads that were left hanging or just not followed up or explained for my enjoyment.

 

However moments of extremely beautiful prose and breathtaking scenery saved this book from being mundane. It is clear that the author writes with a cinematic view of the world, such is the vividness and realism of the description of the drive along the Amalfi coast that I never want to venture there – I hate cliff tops and narrow windy roads which hug the coastline – sheer drops inches away, tourist coaches honking with bravado as they bulldoze their way around hairpin bends, an accident just waiting to happen. Some extremely evocative writing, the author’s love of this countryside is very obvious.

 

 

NB This book was provided for review by the publisher.

7 thoughts on “Post Script: The Lost Swimmer – Ann Turner

  1. It’s so interesting, isn’t it, Carol, how much of a difference writing style can make. Still not sure this is going to be my sort of book. Still, I’m glad you found some things to like.

    • Margot – my expectations weren’t met but that’s not to say it wont meet others approval:) I am finding the more I read the more “different” styles of writing (and genres) I enjoy…I thought I had set preferences for while there but acknowledge that isn’t the case any more. Maybe I am more open to discoveries these day?

    • Deb there are some really eloquent passages of writing and such vivid “travel” related pieces…and an incident with a dog that I wont go into detail that was pretty horrific but terrific writing all the same ( no spoilers here), so yes some great writing but not quite what I was expecting.

    • Cathy – I hope you enjoy this one- no two people read a book the same way; we all bring our own experiences and expectations to the process of reading… ( and I think the last book we read before the new one has a big impact on how we read the current book/our expectations of it/our enjoyment of the current book).

  2. Pingback: Spotlight On Margaret River Readers & Writers Festival – Ann Turner – Reading, Writing and Riesling

Leave a Reply

