Post Script: Hidden – Emma Kavanagh

Engaging, chilling, mesmerising. A read in one sitting novel.

Book cover Hidden Emma Kavanagh

Hidden

Emma Kavanagh

Random House UK, Cornerstone

Cornerstone Digital

ISBN: 9781448184576

 

Description:

A gripping psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson.

 

HE’S WATCHING

A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He’s unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently.

Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman – before it’s too late.

 

SHE’S WAITING

To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety – both for her, and her young niece who’s been recently admitted. She’s heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he?

As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman’s next target will be. But he’s there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks…

 

 

My View:

Last night I had the pleasure of reading an exciting and engaging book about a contemporary social issue and crime that is becoming more prevalent in our modern world – the spree killing. The first few pages hook you as you find yourself in the middle of a massacre; blood pooling across the floor, death and carnage racing to meet you. A brilliant hook – you cannot wait to learn what had happened, who is responsible and the answer to the big question, WHY?

And so the narrative begins. Each chapter is narrated by one of the main characters in this drama, including the Shooter. The novel is cunningly written to provide you with many a red herring that will lead you down twisty paths to… nowhere. You will think you have worked it out, you will place his/her name into chapters narrated by “ The Shooter” – and they will make sense…for a while… in fact I changed my mind about the culprit about 3 times during the course of the narrative but at no time did I actually realise who the actual shooter really was.

This is an absorbing psychological drama guaranteed to please.

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Post Script: Hidden – Emma Kavanagh

  1. Glad you found this a good read, Carol. Sometimes novels that deal with disturbing phenomena like this can be lurid, even melodramatic. I’m glad this one didn’t cross that line for you, and you found it compelling.

    • I did enjoy this one Margot – some very clever twists here – I like that I got it wrong so many times:) I think because the book starts immediately with the “event” aside from hooking you into the story it also means that a part of it is over and then you are involved in the why/who/how of the book.

  2. The only thing I found weird about this book was in the opening scene there’s a character who appears to be dying… and yet… (well, I can’t say more). I enjoyed it but felt maybe the opening scene was a bit too overly-dramatic. Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s