Post Script: Hide and Seek – Jane Casey

Cover Hide and Seek

Hide and Seek

Jane Casey

Penguin Random House UK Children’s

RHCP Digital

ISBN: 9781448119486

 

Description:

‘If I hadn’t walked into the room at that moment, maybe everything would have worked out differently. Maybe everything would have been all right after all . . .’

Port Sentinel may be a beautiful seaside tourist trap, but in the short time Jess Tennant has lived there, it has seen its fair share of tragedy. Tragedy that somehow Jess keeps getting caught up in.

A schoolgirl from the town goes missing, leaving her diary behind and a lot of unanswered questions. Has she run away from her unhappy home or is there something much more sinister going on? And can Jess find her before it’s too late?

 

My View:

Likeable characters, twisty plots with a few surprises, a strong female protagonist, low level violence and a resolution that most would be happy with.

However as an adult reading this with greater reading and life experiences than the intended audience I did find a few elements that made me feel uncomfortable. Mostly Jess espouses politically correct sentiments and statements regarding sexuality, the character Nessa is the vehicle for surface discussion re LGBT issues, accepting people choices, no one else business etc. Jess is a strong female protagonist – with a can do attitude and skills and strengths, we the reader don’t judge her based purely on her physical attractiveness (but she is not uglyJ), so we are awash with positive political correctness and then when it is revealed that Officer Dan has been having a extracurricular relationship with a fellow police officer (which seemed to be quite acceptable) Jess’s comments ‘“…Dan has been having an affair with one of his detectives. So I think that’s his first priority.” It was the one who had helped me at the police station, in fact. She was very pretty and I was inclined to think he’d done well.’ A judgement that seem to be based on the physical – the female officer and Dan’s. The relationship between Will and Jess is also fraught with a passive /aggressive attitude and this is not a behaviour I would like to see modelled/accepted as reasonable in a book for this age group.   Young men physically fight to resolve issues; whilst it’s not an acceptable behaviour in any reasonable society – and Jess states it is not acceptable either I would have preferred if that scene was not part of this narrative.

A book for the teens. I think I will confine myself to Ms Casey’s excellent adult crime thrillers.

8 thoughts on “Post Script: Hide and Seek – Jane Casey

  1. Thanks for pointing out those inconsistencies and unacceptable behaviours/attitudes. I often rely on reviews now for books my great-nieces and great-nephews might like so I appreciate your forthrightness on this subject.

  2. Interesting, Carol, that you have a different reaction to her YA books to the one you have to her Mave Kerrigan series. I liked the first Jess Tennant novel (How to Fall) very much. But I can see how you would think this one is less stellar.

  3. I totally agree with you. Writers really need to think hard about the messages they send out to our youth. Especially established authors with a large following, as parents are less likely to flag/pre-read these book choices.
    Another terrific review Carol! Cheers 🙂

    • Thanks Anne – I wish that when I was a young adult some one offered me something other than a certain brand of romance to read – they filled my head with false impressions – these books had a formula – mostly like – rich arrogant male all powerful protagonist – female subservient but must be pretty- she loathes him but he “takes her” it must be love, they fight, they make up…

Leave a Reply

