Post Script: The Huntress Moon – Alexandra Sokoloff

Addictive Reading!

Cover The Huntress Moon

The Huntress Moon/FBI Thriller Series #1

Alexandra Sokoloff

Thomas and Mercer

ISBN: 1477822046

ASIN: BOONKTTDH4

 

 

 

Description:

 

Special Agent Matthew Roarke

thought he knew what evil was.

He was wrong.

 

FBI Special Agent Matthew Roarke is closing in on a bust of a major criminal organization in San Francisco when he witnesses an undercover member of his team killed right in front of him on a busy street, an accident Roarke can’t believe is coincidental. His suspicions put him on the trail of a mysterious young woman who appears to have been present at each scene of a years-long string of “accidents” and murders, and who may well be that most rare of killers: a female serial.

 

His hunt for her will take him across three states, and force him to question everything he believes about evil and justice.

 

*Thriller Award Nominee, Best ebook Original

 

My View:

Before I begin my review her is a little bit of background on the award winning author Alexandra Sokoloff (information I paid scant attention to before I started reading…which as it turned out was fortuitous as it didn’t affect my reaction to the book, I started reading with no real expectations except that this would most probably be a great read – and I was not disappointed) and it allowed me to have several uninhibited email discussions with the author on an equal footing.   Now I have discovered more about the author and have read the first book, I am in awe of this talented writer!

 

Ms Alexandra Sokoloff is, in her own words “… an American crime and thriller writer, recovering screenwriter, living half in Los Angeles and half in Scotland.”

 

The Huntress Moon is the first book in the “Thriller Award-nominated Huntress/FBI series, which follows a haunted FBI agent on his hunt for what may be a female serial killer….The premise allows me to take the “woman as victim” trope and turn it completely inside out, in the form of a nail-biting mystery/suspense series.”

 

 

I Begin My Review:

Ok so now you have read the intro, you know the author is award winning, has released many books and is highly regarded in the crime fiction writing world (and Alexandra is presenting a writing Masterclass at Bloody Scotland this September 2015 for those lucky enough to be able to attend), even if you didn’t know anything about this author all is immediately revealed by the time you have read…oh let me see… about 3 pages. Immediately the standard of the writing leaps out at you – you nod to yourself and go YES! And from that point on no one gets any sense or conversation out of you until you have finished reading this mesmerising, engaging, suspense filled book. But be warned just because you have finished reading episode one in this series doesn’t mean your world will start functioning again – it won’t!

 

When I finished reading this book I discovered I was on something that I can only explain as “a book high”. I was literally skipping around the room, my head light and somehow not quite connected to my body, I was excited and happy and could not begin to put words into coherent thoughts (which is why it has taken me so long to write this review). I felt like I did the last time I have had a hospital procedure and had sedation – when I skipped and laughed and giggled my way out of the hospital 🙂 (Too much happy gas I think) No wonder the hospital warns you not to make any important decisions, or sign any legal documents or drive after the procedure! I cannot believe a book made me feel this same way.

 

When sensible thought did return I had an epiphany. I will share that astounding thought with you; all book reviewing is relative, relative to what you read yesterday, the week before, the time before that. How can an individual really measure the worth of a book when so much relates to the experience of the books recently read? Let me explain my thoughts; these months I have read some amazing books across a few genres, (no names will be mentioned as I do not wish to offend anyone) these books I rated 5 stars – the highest accolade and I was enthusiastic and excited by the read and shared my thoughts with you. Then I read The Huntress Moon. If the others I previously ranked as 5 stars – what was this book I had in front of me? I regarded The Huntress Moon much more highly than anything I have read …since I can’t remember when.

 

The professionalism of the writing shines. The characterisations are wonderful – no one is black or white, the characters feel real, three dimensional; the narrative has two strong protagonists – two very likeable protagonists even though one we quickly discover is a murderer. Other minor characters are equally interesting. The narrative is fast paced, plenty of twists and turns and action and outcomes that are credible. This is a most engaging and satisfying read.

 

Have I convinced you? I hope so – if your passion is crime fiction – get a hold of a copy of a copy this book today. And then buy the rest of the series.

 

There is a bargain to be had here if you get in quick:

The latest in the series, Cold Moon, was released by Thomas & Mercer in print, ebook and audiobook 7 July, and The Huntress Moon is on sale on Amazon AU for 1.99 through the month of August. (I suggest you get in quick before this offer expires. I also have the audio book tucked away safely to enjoy at a later date)

 

Books 1 and 2, Huntress Moon and Blood Moon, were re-released in January and February of this year. The series has just been optioned for TV in the US.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Post Script: The Huntress Moon – Alexandra Sokoloff

  1. It sounds as though you had a phenomenal reading experience, Carol. I’m very happy for you. And it does sound like a group of fascinating characters. You’re not the first one to recommend this, too. Sounds like a book I should check out.

  2. Pingback: Ten Things You Didnt Know About Alexandra Sokoloff | Reading, Writing and Riesling

  3. Pingback: Friday Freebie 4th Sepetember 2015 | Reading, Writing and Riesling

  4. I understand! I first read one of Alexandra Sokoloff’s books in 2012 as preparation for a week long writer’s academy. I read “The Price” first and quickly bought “Book of Shadows”. My fan girl crush began. I found a new favorite author. In 2013 I took her class at the Academy. Not only is she among the upper echelon in her career but she’s one of the nicest people I have ever met.

    Keep reading. The Huntress/FBI series is my favorite. To my knowledge, I’ve read everything she’s written. Great review!

Leave a Reply

