Post Script: The Lost Girl – R L Stine

The Lost Girl Cover

R L Stine

The Lost Girl – A Fear Street Novel

St. Martin’s Press

St. Martin’s Griffin

ISBN: 9781250051639

 

Description:

Generations of children and teens have grown up on R.L. Stine’s bestselling and hugely popular horror series, Fear Street and Goosebumps. Now, the Fear Street series is back with a chilling new installment, packed with pure nightmare fodder that will scare Stine’s avid fan base of teen readers and adults. New student Lizzy Palmer is the talk of Shadyside High. Michael and his girlfriend Pepper befriend her, but the closer they get to her, the stranger she seems… and the more attractive she is to Michael. He invites her to join him on a snowmobile race that ends in a tragic accident. Soon, Michael’s friends start being murdered, and Pepper becomes convinced that Lizzy is behind the killings. But to her total shock, she and Michael are drawn into a tragic story of an unthinkable betrayal committed over 60 years ago. Frightening and tense in the way that only this master of horror can deliver, The Lost Girl is another terrifying Fear Street novel by the king of juvenile horror.

 

 

My View:

I have never read an R L Stine book before but as my children read many when they were teenagers I thought I would give this a shot and see what sort of energy and vibe this author exudes. I was firstly surprised by the level of horror/violence expressed in this book – (no spoilers) but the horse/oats/honey scene at the beginning is mind boggling and some of the later incidents are almost as horrific – I must admit I was surprised by the level of violence – this was not quite what I was expecting.

 

Story wise – I liked the dual time line/historical aspect of the narrative, but I think the ending was rushed – but as I am not in the target audience for this book maybe my concerns are more about my age and related expectations. I think this has the great makings for an adult horror story or film. Characters – were a little superficial and under developed for my liking but that being said again I am not the target audience for this book, teenagers may be more accepting than I was.

 

All in all an interesting read that I feel could be effectively developed to reach an adult audience.

 

 

 

One thought on “Post Script: The Lost Girl – R L Stine

  1. Oh, that is interesting, Carol. I’ll confess, it’s not my kind of book. But I do respect an author who ‘stretches the wings’ a bit and tries other kinds of writing. And anyone who writes books that gets kids to want to read deserves a lot of credit.

Leave a Reply

