Post Script: Night Owls aka The Anatomical Shape of a Heart – Jenn Bennett

Book Cover Nights Owls -Jenn Bennett

Night Owls aka The Anatomical Shape of a Heart

Jenn Bennett

Simon & Schuster UK Ltd

Feiwel and Friends

ISBN: 9781471125300

 

Description:

Since school had let out in May, gold graffiti had been popping up around San Francisco. Single words painted in enormous golden letters appeared on bridges and building fronts. Not semi-illegible, angry gang tags, but beautifully executed fonts done by someone with talent and skill…

Meeting Jack on the Owl—San Francisco’s night bus—turns Beatrix’s world upside down. Jack is charming, wildly attractive…and possibly one of San Francisco’s most notorious graffiti artists.

On midnight rides and city rooftops, Beatrix begins to see who this enigmatic boy really is. But Jack is hiding much more – and can she uncover the truth that leaves him so wounded?

A unique and profoundly moving novel. Night Owls will linger in your memory long after the final page.

 

My View:

This little book blew me away! I loved every word, every sentence and every paragraph and did not want this narrative to end. Beautifully written; engaging prose, loveable characters that speak to the principals of acceptance, diversity and individuality and a narrative that is engaging, that flows effortlessly – what more could you want in a great book?

The author comments about this book: “This is not my first published book but it might be my favourite.” I think it might be one of my favourites too! “Writing this book was like slipping into a comfortable coat. It just felt…right.” Perfectly spoken – it felt so right to me too! This is Jenn Bennett’s first YA novel but don’t let the tag “YA” put you off reading this book – there is a beautiful story here that all can enjoy and I will certainly be seeking out this authors others works .

6 thoughts on “Post Script: Night Owls aka The Anatomical Shape of a Heart – Jenn Bennett

  1. Pingback: Rearview Mirror: October 2015 | The Aroma of Books

  2. I didn’t enjoy this book too much, but your review’s convinced me it’s worth a reread.
    PS I am writing a review and I can’t think of the graffitied words except Celebrate. Please help me!!
    Emma x

Leave a Reply

