Science InThe Kitchen

In previous posts I have reviewed a couple of books on Gut Health- Gut  and Heal You Gut and provided a few Gut Friendly recipes for you to try.  This is what you will find in our kitchen/fridge and pantry these days (might need a bigger or extra fridge soon).  I am loving Kombucha Tea – but must make bigger quantities in future – it a great probiotic drink (recipe can be found in Heal Your Gut by Lee Holmes), my sour dough is well worth the effort of making, the fermented vegetables (husband makes these for us – and currently we are using red and green cabbages from the garden) is great with roasts or sausages, the olives are fermented, the fruit from our trees and taste great and the milk kefir I add to smoothies, husband drinks it by the glassful.

Kombucha Tea

Kombucha Tea – final product – Green tea and  black tea ferments

 

004

L-R Fermented veg – green and red cabbage, sour dough starter, olives, milk kefir

 

Sour Dough

Sour Dough

 

Kombucha starter

Kombucha starter

2 thoughts on “Science InThe Kitchen

  1. I’m very impressed with your sour dough Carol, I have had some starter in the fridge for about a year and haven’t got around to trying it yet. It still seems a little daunting to me, I’ll have to go back and do the class again I think.

    • Using a starter – whether it be for Kombucha or sour dough – is a matter of trial and error, research/instruction and then trusting your instincts. I might do a course at some point. Have you been feeding your started all this time? I am looking forward to the warmer weather – when I was working and living in Broome a few years back , bread was so easy to make – it proved quickly – looking forward to it warming up here.

Leave a Reply

