Post Script: Three Lives Down – Rachel Amphlett

Cover Three Lives Down

Three Lives Down

Dan Taylor #3

Rachel Amphlett

Rachel Amphlett

ISBN: 9780992268596

 

 

Description:

Dan Taylor has survived two attempts on his life. The rest of his team are missing, and now a terrorist group has stolen a radioactive isotope from a top secret government project.

 

Can Dan survive long enough to prevent a nuclear disaster on British soil?

 

With the Prime Minister determined to re-negotiate the country’s place in the European Union, and deals being struck behind closed doors, Dan stumbles across a plot that will shake the country to its core.

 

If his mission fails, his enemies will overthrow the British government, and Dan will be a wanted man.

 

If he wants to succeed, he’ll have to sacrifice everything.

 

 

My View:

A surprisingly good novel! Surprised – yes I was – very pleasantly so. I am sorry to say I had not come across Aussie author Rachel Amphlett before and didn’t really know what I might find when I opened this book. When I decide to read a new author there is always a little trepidation involved – will the book live up to my expectations – and those expectations are pretty high? I wasn’t disappointed.   What a great read it was.

 

Despite not having read the first two books in the series I had no problem relating to the main characters or  understanding the situations they found themselves in. I was quickly enmeshed in this read.

 

The action is fast paced, the tone tense and the situations highly credible. I loved that Rachel wove a sub story about fracking into this mix – the world really does need to know about and understand the potential problems that relate to this practice and the situation in this novel is very sensitively and powerfully delivered without hysteria or emotional blackmail. Great work Rachel. I am no fan of fracking and I do not apologise for my view.

 

Back to the novel:

 

Fast paced√

Action packed√

Realistic scenarios√

Settings vivid and visual√

Writing – explodes on the page√

Characters- are empathetic and credible√

Will you be up all night reading this – most definitely!

Would I recommend to you – most certainly!

 

My rating – five stars!

 

 

 

Rachel Amphlett is star! She has achieved so much in her relatively short writing career. Rachel has successfully self-published and promoted her books and the Italian foreign rights to White Gold, the first book in this series, were sold last year to Fanucci Editore’s TimeCRIME imprint, the same imprint that publishes David Baldacci, John Connolly, and Karin Slaughter. What a coup! Rachel Amphlett is a writer we are most certainly going to hear lost more about!

 

10 thoughts on “Post Script: Three Lives Down – Rachel Amphlett

  1. I don’t usually go for this sort of thriller, Carol, but it does sound absorbing. And I know what you mean about the subtext. I give credit to authors who can do that without preaching. And about fracking? No, not a fan here, either.

    • This was a great read Margot – thrillers are not my preferred genre to read but this one was great! The writing is so good you feel like the writer had first hand knowledge of the action – helicopters/politics/guns… etc Glad you are not a fracking fan.

  2. Pingback: Six Things You Didn’t Know About Author Rachel Amphlett | Reading, Writing and Riesling

  3. Pingback: Friday 20th November Freebie | Reading, Writing and Riesling

  4. No fan of fracking here – big CSG protest in this area – successful so far. Like Margot this is not really my sort of thriller generally but based on your review I’d be interested to read.

  5. Pingback: Free Ebook untill 13 September 2016 – Reading, Writing and Riesling

Leave a Reply

