Six Things You Didn’t Know About Author Rachel Amphlett

Cover Three Lives Down

Rachel Amphlett previously worked in the UK publishing industry, as a TV/film extra, played lead guitar in rock bands, and worked with BBC radio before relocating from England to Australia in 2005.

After returning to writing, Rachel enjoyed publication success both in Australia and the United Kingdom with her short stories, before her first thriller White Gold was released in 2011, with the Italian foreign rights being sold to Fanucci Editore’s TimeCrime imprint in 2014. Rachel has since successfully published five more novels including the thriller Three Lives Down which I enjoyed immensely.

Welcome to my blog Rachel Amphlett.

 

Rachel Amphlett

6 Things You Didn’t Know About Rachel Amphlett

 

I want to live out of a suitcase.

Yet due to renovating a house for the past three years, we haven’t travelled as much as I’d like – that’s all set to change from next year, as we’re due to go back to the UK for a few weeks to catch up with family and friends. After that, it’s going to be a case of saving up for a trip to Ecuador as soon as possible – and the thought of taking a year off to travel is very appealing to us!

 

 

My favourite film of 2015 (so far!)

Without a doubt, it has to be The Martian – having read and loved the book, I think like a lot of fans there was a bit of trepidation going to see this at the cinema and wondering if they’d manage to translate it well to the big screen. Of course, it was brilliant.

 

My favourite book of 2015

‘Night Heron’ by Adam Brookes. It’s about a man who escapes a Chinese labour camp and is revealed to have worked for British intelligence 20 years’ previously. It’s a cracking thriller as the protagonist uses all his wiles to evade capture and get back in contact with MI6. Brookes has a second novel out now, and I’ll definitely be adding that to the ‘To Be Read’ pile.

 

The best part about research is…

Trying new experiences. The highlight of this year has been flying a Blackhawk helicopter simulator – yes, I could’ve written the scene adequately enough without doing this, but actually being in the ‘pilot’ seat gave a whole new angle to it. I’m now actively coming up with ideas for stories that’ll give me the chance to try some new stuff next year

 

I wish I had more time to…

Get the ideas out of my head onto paper. Seriously, I must start investigating some dictation software. I read about how prolific writers such as Russell Blake are, and I envy that output. Trying to write around a full-time job is hard though, so I’m thinking a few dictation sessions in the evenings once the house is quiet might be the way to go…

 

My next book is..

Being written. Actually, I have three projects on the go, all of which I’d like to release in 2016 – watch this space!

 

 

You can keep in touch with Rachel via her mailing list by signing up at www.rachelamphlett.com

 

8 thoughts on “Six Things You Didn’t Know About Author Rachel Amphlett

  1. What an interesting interview! Thanks, both. I know just what you mean, Rachel, about wishing you had more time to get your ideas down… And I’ll bet you have some great stories to tell about your life in the rock world.

  2. I get it. House renovations consume all your time and energy. I fight it though and try hard to slip in some story work along with trying to get out the word on my just released book. Travel, sigh, I wish. Looking forward to reading your book in between hanging fixtures in the downstairs bathroom. The glamorous life of an author!.

  3. Pingback: Friday 20th November Freebie | Reading, Writing and Riesling

  4. Pingback: Free Ebook untill 13 September 2016 – Reading, Writing and Riesling

Leave a Reply

