Post Script: I let You Go – Clare Mackintosh

Just another 5 star review of this book.

I Let You Go

I Let You Go

Clare Macintosh

Sphere

Little, Brown and Co UK

ISBN: 9780751554151

 

 

Description:

A tragic accident. It all happened so quickly. She couldn’t have prevented it. Could she?

 

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world is shattered. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape her past, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of the cruel November night that changed her life for ever.

 

DI Ray Stevens is tasked with seeking justice for a mother who is living every parent’s worst nightmare. Determined to get to the bottom of the case, it begins to consume him as he puts both his professional and personal life on the line.

 

As Ray and his team seek to uncover the truth, Jenna, slowly, begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating.

 

 

 

My View:

Lately it seems that every time I stop and read a book review blog or posts on a book site I come across ardent praise for this book I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. And I will admit that in the past I have sometimes picked up a book that has been thus praised in social media and then have been slightly disappointed – the book being ok, perhaps a little more than ok but my expectations set unrealistically high. Gingerly I picked up this book that has been sitting in a small pile on my floor (pile marked Domestic Noir) and began reading. I read about seventy pages the first night, and was slightly underwhelmed – yes this was a decent police procedural, yes the accident was tragic, yes this is a great expose of grief…but what was the fuss about?

 

Well a few things happened quite rapidly just after page seventy or so that had me racing to finish this book, the remaining three hundred pages of small print were devoured in one sitting, home life stopped. *A secret I will share with all avid readers who are also the primary household cook – a slow cooked roast or any style of slow cooked meal (soups, crock pot, one pot meals) etc. are a real life saver, you can quickly assemble the ingredients for the meal and let the oven or pot slowly do the work whilst you continue reading. The result – a tasty meal and a few hundred pages read!

 

Back to the review – a well-developed plot that throws more than a few curve balls at you. A warning – the kitten scene… (No spoilers but this for me informed the rest of the book, I knew what to expect. This is where the tension really was raised. This had an authenticity that was scary. A few more twists, some great characterisations and very visual sense of place – both city and isolated seaside villages that were exquisitely painted, often in shades of morose grey. The dialogue and the sharing of thoughts (particularly Ian’s thoughts) were illuminating and authentic (yes I recognise the “logic”/the blame/the self-talk, Women’s’ Studies 101, Life 101).

Clare Macintosh makes brilliant use of the first person in her revelations, there is nothing more sinister and chilling than hearing Ian’s voice when he is talking/recalling events; cold, distant, impersonal, justifying, blaming…I can hear the underlying unsaid threats, trouble brewing! I can feel the tension. A great read.

 

So here we have another five star review of I Let You Go, all I can really do is suggest you forget all the reviews, all the hype and just pick up this book and immerse yourself in this brilliant narrative and decide for yourself if my praise is indeed worthy. I think you will agree with me that it is.

7 thoughts on “Post Script: I let You Go – Clare Mackintosh

  1. You know, Carol, I’ve been on the fence about this,book. And a lot of the reason is the hype. But still, so many people I trust, such as yourself, are urging me to read it. I’m glad you were drawn into it.

  2. It’s funny, I’ve just picked this book up and was nervous about reading it exactly because of the hype and I’m not past page 70 yet so after this review I’m looking forward to getting there. Though, I’m reading on my kindle so I’m not sure where that is but I can make a rough estimate. But I’m sure I’ll know when I get there. 🙂

    • SNAP! I hope you do enjoy it Rebecca – it is a fab read. I have another book that I hesitant to start for the same reasons – the hype – The Natural Way of Things Charlotte Wood – I will tackle it when I have a spare weekend of reading because I think it will demand a lot of my attention.

  3. It’s great isn’t it?! It starts off like any thriller and then WHAM…. Best twist I’ve ever read in a book I think. It settled down a little again for me, but the twist made it one of my faves last year!

Leave a Reply

