Post Script: Confessions of an Imaginary Friend: A Memoir by Jacques Papier – Michelle Cuevas

Very, very special!

Confessions of an Imaginary Friend

Confessions of an Imaginary Friend: A Memoir by Jacques Papier

Michelle Cuevas

Simon and Schuster Children’s Books

ISBN: 9781471145506

RRP A$14.99

 

Description:

Jacques Papier thinks that everyone hates him. After all, teachers ignore him when he raises his hand in class, nobody ever picks him for sports teams, and his sister, Fleur, keeps having to remind their parents to set a place for him at the dinner table. But then Jacques discovers an uncomfortable truth: He is NOT Fleur’s brother; he’s her imaginary friend! And so begins Jacques’ quest for identity …what do you do when you realise that the only reason you exist is because of someone else’s imagination? The whimsical “autobiography” of an imaginary friend who doesn’t know he’s imaginary – perfect for fans of Toy Story, The Imaginary and Moone Boy.

 

My View:

This small paperback novel is crammed full with sparkling humour, is vividly descriptive and has the most amazingly beautiful prose. It is written is an easy to read deceptively simplistic style that children will enjoy and the adults looking on or reading to them will notice their hearts swelling with the emotions and the deeper points the subtle messages in this book conjure up. It is simply divine! The characters beyond cute, the lessons and realisations…, there so many levels of storytelling in this book, you must read this yourself to appreciate it.

 

“…you couldn’t help but think that anyone and everyone is amazing. I guess everyone, I realised would include me. But what was special about me? I guess you can’t always know what those things are about yourself. Maybe because you’re too close to see it, like a flower that looks down and thinks it is just a stem. I guess the important thing is to trust that you are. You’re special. And the people close to you see it in more ways than you could ever, ever know.” (p.143)

 

PS I have just discovered that Fox Animation has bought the rights to this book and is developing a movie. Cant wait!

 

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Post Script: Confessions of an Imaginary Friend: A Memoir by Jacques Papier – Michelle Cuevas

  1. Oh, this does sound fun, Carol! And I always give credit when an author does something innovative and creates a book that both children and adults can enjoy. It’ll be interesting to see what the film is like.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s