Post Script – Rain Dogs – Adrian McKinty

Rain Dogs

Rain Dogs

Sean Duffy #5

Adrian McKinty

Allen and Unwin Australia

Serpents Tail

ISBN: 9781781254554

 

Description:

A death in a historic castle, locked up overnight. It almost looks like a suicide, but then Sean Duffy pulls on a few little threads, and the whole Establishment could come undone

It’s just the same things over and again for Sean Duffy. Riot duty. Heartbreak. Cases he can solve but never get to court. But what detective gets two locked room mysteries in one career?

 

When journalist Lily Bigelow is found dead in the snowy courtyard of Carrickfergus castle, it looks like a suicide. But there are just a few things that bother Duffy enough to keep the case file open. Which is how he finds out that she was working on a devastating investigation of corruption and abuse at the highest levels of power in the UK and beyond.

 

And so Duffy has two impossible problems on his desk: who killed Lily Bigelow? And what were they trying to hide?

 

 

 

My View:

This is my first taste of an Adrian McKinty novel and I am hooked! It doesn’t matter that I haven’t read any of the earlier books in this series – I was able to understand relationships, characters and their backgrounds, settings…and the overall story arch.

 

I really enjoy a character based crime fiction narrative and this one was perfect – protagonists that are solid, decent, quirky people, with interesting lives, living in dangerous times. How much better could this book get? A crime novel that also manages to show some humanness and reflect on social attitudes of the time is a bonus for me. I think this novel pretty much meets my criteria for a perfect read and Adrian McKinty is definitely an author to follow.

 

I want to catch up on all of the other books Adrian McKinty has written– I really enjoyed this and rated it 5 stars – makes me wonder how good his earlier award winning books must be??? Included in the list of awards – one shortlist for the 2004 Dagger Award, (Dead I Well May Be), the first Sean Duffy novel, The Cold Cold Ground won the 2013 Spinetingler Award, Sean Duffy #2,  I Hear The Sirens In The Street was shortlisted for the 2013 Ned Kelly Award, In The Morning I’ll Be Gone (Sean Duffy #3) won the 2014 Ned Kelly Award. I wonder what award this book will win? Writing of this calibre deserves an award.

 

10 thoughts on “Post Script – Rain Dogs – Adrian McKinty

  1. He is awfully talented, isn’t he, Carol? I’m very glad you enjoyed your first experience with the McKinty magic. You may want to stop over at my blog in a week; my spotlight next week will be on The Cold, Cold Ground

  2. So glad you’ve finally read McKinty’s work Carol – knew you’d be hooked. In The Morning I’ll Be Gone and Gun Street Girl are pretty damn excellent, and that I’m ‘looking forward’ to reading this one has to be an understatement 🙂

  3. I actually have The Cold, Cold Ground scheduled for March. I’ve only read one of them before – I Hear the Sirens in the Street – and have been meaning to catch up with the series for ages. Glad to hear this one is so good!

  4. Just love his books, read the series up to but not including this one. Don’t know if you’ve listened to any of them in audiobook? The narrator, Gerard Doyle is one of the very best.
    I’m glad you enjoyed it as sometimes it’s a bit hard to understand the Troubles. It was a terrible time and he tells it so well

Leave a Reply

