Post Script: The Ex – Alafair Burke

An engrossing legal procedural/mystery enmeshed in a very tragic personal story or two.

The Ex

The Ex

Alafair Burke

Allen & Unwin

Faber and Faber

ISBN: 9780571328154

RRP A$29.99

 

 

Description:

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

 

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

 

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night’s party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That’s when Jack’s world falls apart.

 

Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife’s murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?

 

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

 

 

My View:

An engrossing legal procedural/mystery enmeshed in a very tragic personal story or two.

 

This is my first foray into the writing of Alafair Burke and I loved it! I should point out that I had no preconceptions about the author, her famous writerly family, her other works other than hearing on the grapevine somewhere that this is a good writer. I am pleased to have made your acquaintance Ms Burke and I look forward to continuing our relationship. This was a very engaging, character driven (nobody said I had to like any of the characters) narrative within a crime fiction/legal procedural context. I devoured your words!

 

I loved the use of transcripts of police interviews, emails and social media posts that added realism and contemporised this narrative.

 

The human tragedies that envelop this story are so common these days we have become almost blasé, the author reminds us that real people are involved who have families and friends that are also impacted by these seemingly senseless deaths. Grief doesn’t care who pulled the trigger. This context made a perfect back drop for the bigger picture story – gun control, responsible gun laws, children and guns – a lethal combination.

 

A sparkling read filled with regrets, guilt, what ifs and a few interesting red herrings that allowed the reader to work through a few scenarios before drawing their final difficult confronting conclusion. A most enjoyable read.

 

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Post Script: The Ex – Alafair Burke

  1. I think Alafair Burke really does have talent, Carol, and I’m glad you enjoyed this one. If you did, you might enjoy her 212? In my opinion (‘though it’s just my view) it’s a good ‘un.

  2. I really loved this one and I’m a fan of Burke already. (I love her on Facebook – you should follow her if you don’t already… she seems really down to earth and hangs with lots of my other fave authors!)

  3. Pingback: The Ex // by Alafair Burke | The Aroma of Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s