Post Script: Betting Blind – Lily Gardner

Betting Blind

Betting Blind

Lennox Cooper #2

Lily Gardner

Diversion Books

ISBN: 9781626819559

 

Description:

For Lennox Cooper, helping out a friend means gambling with her life.

 

In the rainy city of Portland, Matilda Bauer has been blackmailing her parole officer, Fulin Chen. Just when Fulin’s ready to come clean, Matilda disappears. Bad news for Fulin, because once Matilda is arrested for breaking parole she’ll show the photos she has on him and end his career. Fulin turns to his longtime friend and poker buddy, Lennox Cooper, P.I., to help him find the beautiful blonde con-woman.

 

A former cop, Lennox knows how it feels to live and breathe the police life—and to be thrown out of it. She’ll do anything to help her friend avoid a similar fate. But three days later Lennox finds Matilda dead, in what looks like a sex game gone terribly wrong. Fulin Chen is the lead suspect. Lennox’s search for Matilda, however, causes her to begin turning over rocks, finding that her past lies under many of them—not to mention deadly threats. Matilda Bauer had no shortage of enemies, though, and Lennox will have to sift through the many blackmail victims and jilted lovers to find the real killer.

 

 

My View:

I loved the first book in this series A Bitch Called Hope (for the uninitiated the tiles of Lily’s books are referring to card playing terms) and this was even more enjoyable and exciting. In this book Lennox Cooper PI continues her Friday night poker playing ways. Lennox takes more than few risks and gets involved in a nasty and dangerous investigation – again I loved this fast paced narrative. I loved the protagonist; Lennox – the gusty, resourceful PI, and Fulin Chen her friend and client and the camaraderie of the Friday night poker players, so authentic.

 

This is a read in one sitting kind of book.  The pages almost turn themselves over! I loved the complex storyline, the list of many suspects that is whittled away by hard work, investigation and a process of elimination; all scenarios that are explored as Lennox digs deeper to try and solve this case.

 

My only issue with this read…I read the last page and couldn’t believe there was no more!  I was totally engaged in this narrative and now it looks like I have to wait a year for the next installment.  Not fair Ms Gardner. Type faster.  🙂

 

PS This can be read as a standalone but I strongly recommend reading A Bitch Called Hope first -if you love a gusty female protagonist in a fast paced book!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Post Script: Betting Blind – Lily Gardner

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them! They are all honestly really great and amazing.
    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is literally amazing and I truly am so happy that I have come across it because I really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you! So keep it up (:
    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

  2. I haven’t heard of this series, it might not have reached our shores yet. My husband & i play in a bi-weekly poker game at a friend’s place, so i’m loving the card playing theme of this series. Will try to hunt down the 1st book tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

