Post Script: Dead End Fix , A Justice Novel – T E Woods

Dead End Fix

Dead End Fix

A Justice Novel ( #6)

T E Woods

Random House Publishing Group – Alibi

Alibi

ISBN:  9780425284551

 

Description:

Fear and violence come home to roost in this exhilarating Justice thriller featuring The Fixer—a roller-coaster ride for readers of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter novels.

 

I’ll bring Hadley home. Whatever it takes. Whatever it costs. Whoever has to die.

 

There’s a gang war unfolding on the streets of Seattle. A young boy has been killed in a drive-by shooting, and the ensuing chaos threatens to engulf the city. Normally, chief of detectives Mort Grant would be dealing with the fallout—but right now, his mind is elsewhere. . . .

 

In one gut-wrenching phone call, Mort’s worst fears are realized. His granddaughter Hadley has been kidnapped, and the culprit is his own flesh and blood: Allie, his daughter and Hadley’s aunt. Now, desperate for any sign of the missing six-year-old girl, Mort turns once again to the relentless vigilante called The Fixer for help.

 

After rising to the top of one of the largest criminal enterprises in the world, Allie Grant has turned her focus back on her family. But since they’ve rebuffed all her attempts at contact, she’s punishing them the only way she knows how. With an endless stream of cash and connections that span the globe, Allie makes a formidable target. But The Fixer boasts the deadliest weapon of all: her razor-sharp mind.

 

 

 

My View:

This novel, part 6 in the Justice/Mort Grant series and is another solid read from this talented author. I enjoyed the psychological battles and the solving of a major plot line in this episode by using psychology alone – this is what “the Fixer” does best – uses her mind. This is the element that I loved in the earlier books.

And now reflecting on the practice of psychology as I write my review I have realised the significance of the gang storyline (whilst interesting to read I was at a loss as to how this melded with The Fixer’s plot line) now I get it – it is about the power plays and psychology at work behind the behaviour of gangs – a tenuous link but a link there is.  Gang wars, drug lords/wars, one police division working in another’s territory… the psychology that binds and divides is interesting.

 

A solid read; one major story line ends – I have to wonder where this series is now heading…surprise me Dr Woods.  (A little bird has told me Dr Woods is developing a new series set in Madison, Wisconsin, now that should be interesting.)

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Post Script: Dead End Fix , A Justice Novel – T E Woods

  1. I’m glad you’ve been enjoying this series, Carol. There is something utterly fascinating about psychology, isn’t there? And when the author explores it effectively, it can make for a riveting read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s