I Predicted This Would Win Awards!

A few months ago I read ( and my husband and daughter read) The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel.  We all agreed this was an awesome read!the summer that melted everything Scribe

At the time I predicted this book would win awards – the writing is just amazing – the narrative complex and insightful.   I predict that this is the first of many awards, winner:  The Not the Booker Prize 2016.

 

‘The Summer that Melted Everything’ wins 2016 Not the Booker Prize

US author Tiffany McDaniel’s debut novel The Summer that Melted Everything (Scribe) has won this year’s Not the Booker Prize, which is run by the Guardian in the UK and voted on by the public. McDaniel’s novel—‘about community, redemption, and the dark places where evil really lies’—was chosen from a shortlist of six, that also included: The Combinations (Louis Armand, Equus); The Less Than Perfect Legend of Donna Creosote (Dan Micklethwaite, Bluemoose Books); Walking the Lights (Deborah Andrews, Freight Books); Chains of Sand (Jemma Wayne, Legend Press); and What Will Remain (Dan Clements, Silvertail). The winner of the award, which has the same criteria as the Man Booker Prize, receives a Guardian coffee mug. This year’s Man Booker Prize will be awarded at a ceremony in London on 25 October.   http://www.booksandpublishing.com.au/articles/2016/10/25/80180/the-summer-that-melted-everything-wins-2016-not-the-booker-prize/

Congratulations Tiffany!!

6 thoughts on “I Predicted This Would Win Awards!

  1. You did, indeed, call it, Carol! I’m glad you and your family enjoyed it so much. Isn’t it great when everyone can read a book and discuss it like that? I’ve found it really bonding, as sappy as that may sound.

  2. I’ve not heard of this award, and not familiar with any of the titles or authors. I’ve added the winner + runners up to my list. Thrilled that you introduced me to this Carol 😀

Leave a Reply

