Hugely Anticipated Release of Australian Domestic Noir by Author Wendy James

Yes you read that correctly – one of Australia’s favourite fiction writers, Wendy James, has a new book out this week and the fabulous book people HarperCollins Australia Publishing have kindly donated one copy of The Golden Child to giveaway on my Australia Day Big Book Giveaway!Β  This is domestic noir at its best! I cant wait to read this one – stay tuned for review and interview with Wendy James…soon.

All you need do is in the comments tell me the name of one other of Wendy’s books.Β  ****Giveaway open to Australian residents only. Giveaway ends midnight 28 January 2017.

 

golden-child

Description:

Can bad children happen to good mothers? A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas.

Blogger Lizzy’s life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness …
Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth’s clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for.
This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child?

 

PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN CHILD
‘This is an engaging and intimate read … 4 Stars’ Australian Bookseller and Publisher
‘Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written’ Danielle Hawkins, author

PRAISE FOR WENDY JAMES’S OTHER BOOKS
‘A wonderful, unputdownable story by a great Australian author’ Liane Moriarty, Australian Women’s Weekly
‘A penetrating picture of our life and times . . . a knockout’ Canberra Times
‘Cunning psychological portraits and clean prose make for an absorbing domestic thriller’ The Age

 

**Thank you to HarperCollins Australia Publishing for supporting this giveaway.

Advertisements

38 thoughts on “Hugely Anticipated Release of Australian Domestic Noir by Author Wendy James

  1. I have The Lost Girls on my wish list but from all accounts this would make a good choice also πŸ™‚ …since ut has already been mentioned I will say The Mistake
    by Wendy James as another of her books.

  2. I really enjoyed The Lost Girls by Wendy James when it came out. I was lucky to receive a review copy. I have also read The Steele Diaries – another great book. I love the cover of her new book 😊

  3. I haven’t read any of Wendy James’ works yet, although I do have The Lost Girls on my TBR list. However, since that one’s already been mentioned, I will say another book of hers is Where Have You Been? – and it also sounds good. Thanks for the opportunity to enter, Carol!

  4. Gosh, I seem to be late to the party on this author, but this sounds like a great read. Thanks for offering it, Carol

  5. The Lost Girls is in my list so I’ll be thin that one. It looks like I need to get to this author – not just have her on my tbr!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s