Post Script: The Girl In Kellers Way – Megan Goldin

The Girl In Kellers Way

The Girl In Kellers Way

Megan Goldin

Penguin

Michael Joseph

ISBN: 9780143785446

 

Description:

When a body is found buried near the desolate forest road of Kellers Way, Detective Melanie Carter must identify the victim if she is to have any chance of finding the killer. That’s no easy task with fragmentary evidence from a crime committed years earlier and a conspiracy of silence from anyone who might have information.

 

The one person who may be able to help is Julie West. In a troubled marriage, Julie often jogs along Kellers Way to clear her mind and escape the confines of her suffocating suburban life. Until one day, something happens there that shakes Julie to the core, making her question everything she ever believed about her life, her marriage and even her sanity . . .

 

 

My View:

Most murders are committed by someone known to the victim. More often than not, it’s an immediate relative. A husband. Or a wife.” (back cover)

 

What a fantastic debut novel! I love domestic noir, and this is a great example of the genre.  As I read I solved the mysteries of this narrative in my head only to have nagging doubts bubble to the surface the more pages I turned.  I did not like the character – Matt – what a well written egocentric, calculating individual he is. Julie is not so likeable either – but her actions are understandable, though her neediness is cloying. Julie’s version of events is unreliable – a great plot device.   Who is the baddie here?

 

What character did I enjoy and want to see more of – Detective Melanie Carter.   I do hope this is the start of a series?  I do want to see more of this empathetic, diligent, intelligent woman in the future. This is a great read with a very uncomfortable ending – you will keep thinking about this book long after the last page has been turned.

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Wendy James…Welcome Back… Part 2

golden-child

Do you have fun with your characters, inject some humour to counter balance the darkness? Wendy shares how she achieves this in The Golden Child (and by the way – I too really enjoyed reading the blog posts/comments injected in the narrative, they made me smile).

Welcome Wendy James…Lets Talk About Characters and The Golden Child

 

Please welcome the fabulous Wendy James to my blog – I am so excited to have her featured here today.

Wendy’s latest novel is The Golden Child – a book that is racing up the charts.  I loved this read- the manipulations, the twists, the brilliantly developed characters.  I asked her a few key questions regarding her characters and how they are created/evolve. As a reader I am fascinated with the writing process and what inspires my favourite authors.

golden-child

Are you a “people watcher”? Do you imagine the life histories/futures of strangers? Do you read a book, a news  item and imagine a scenario, a narrative? Let’s hear what Wendy has to say.

 

 

 

More to come…stay tuned.

Caravaning Company

Travel = husband, dog, 5th wheeler caravan, beautiful scenery,  wild dolphins and books:)

Augusta-2017 Garry & Bob

Bob the Dog enjoying the sites and smells of holidays.

Dolphins

Dolphins playing in the river – you had to be there to appreciate it 🙂

The Animators

The Animators – Five star reading

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman – a fabulous read.

The Unfortunate Victim

The Unfortunate Victim – a great Australian historical crime fiction read.

What more could you want?

 

Post Script: The Golden Child – Wendy James

Amazing!!!

golden-child

The Golden Child

Wendy James

HarperCollins Publishers Australia

ISBN: 9781460752371

 

Description:

Can bad children happen to good mothers? A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas.

 

Blogger Lizzy’s life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness…

Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth’s clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for.

This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child?

 

 

My View:

I had great difficulty reading this book. Let me explain; I love the cover, I love this author’s work, and liked the synopsis, I wanted to read this book.  I started reading, I put the book down. I felt so much apprehension, so much dread, so evocative is the writing I could not go on – it was the fear of what I knew was coming – something really, really bad.   I picked up the book again. I could not stop!

 

This book has probably the lowest level of violence in all the books I have read since I began reviewing, yet is it so powerful, the truth so malignant, so uncomfortable and confronting it will have you wondering if those are angina pains you are feeling, you are holding yourself so tense your muscles ache.

 

This narrative drives a nail into our psyche and scapes the scabs off all those hidden sores; the self-doubts about your parenting skills, guilt regarding paid work V being stay home mums, relationship guilt, do you love enough/do enough/could you try harder/do better/ be a better wife/mother and independent woman? Do you give enough attention to husband/child/ your other children? Do you play favourites?  Do you know your own children? How could I not know?  Is this my fault? It is my fault.

 

What a wonderful, confronting, pulse raising read!

 

 

 

Hugely Anticipated Release of Australian Domestic Noir by Author Wendy James

Yes you read that correctly – one of Australia’s favourite fiction writers, Wendy James, has a new book out this week and the fabulous book people HarperCollins Australia Publishing have kindly donated one copy of The Golden Child to giveaway on my Australia Day Big Book Giveaway!  This is domestic noir at its best! I cant wait to read this one – stay tuned for review and interview with Wendy James…soon.

All you need do is in the comments tell me the name of one other of Wendy’s books.  ****Giveaway open to Australian residents only. Giveaway ends midnight 28 January 2017.

 

golden-child

Description:

Can bad children happen to good mothers? A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas.

Blogger Lizzy’s life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness …
Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth’s clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for.
This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child?

 

PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN CHILD
‘This is an engaging and intimate read … 4 Stars’ Australian Bookseller and Publisher
‘Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written’ Danielle Hawkins, author

PRAISE FOR WENDY JAMES’S OTHER BOOKS
‘A wonderful, unputdownable story by a great Australian author’ Liane Moriarty, Australian Women’s Weekly
‘A penetrating picture of our life and times . . . a knockout’ Canberra Times
‘Cunning psychological portraits and clean prose make for an absorbing domestic thriller’ The Age

 

**Thank you to HarperCollins Australia Publishing for supporting this giveaway.

Doesn’t Time Fly?

Here it is December 2016 already.  I cant believe it – this year has flown by, life has been busy; a grandson was born and he is now 8 months old.  Recipes have been tried and tested and many books have been read and reviewed – around the one hundred seventy mark thus far.

I am enjoying sharing the joy of reading with my grandson (with  appropriate titles) – it is never too early to encourage a love of reading.

Recently I invited a couple of ardent readers to share some of their favoruite reads on my site – to broaden the type of book reviews available here.  I hope you find some new favourite books and authors.  Thank you Bec and Brenda.

 

The reading year has not yet wound up – there is a blog tour ahead; the launch of Rachel Amphlett’s new police procedural series, Scared to Death. There is a   Q & A with debut Perth writer Anthea Hodgson, a Christmas menu to compile and share and a series of “best of 2016 reads” for you to comment on and…more reviews.

scared-to-death-blog-tour4-19-23-dec

 

Seasons greetings to you.

Christmas pavlova