Post Script: Frame – AK Alliss

Amor Vincit Omnia!

frame

 

Frame

AK Alliss

Atlas Productions Pty Ltd

ISBN: 9780995377615

 

Description:

How far would you go to save someone who was already dead?

 

Hidden in the frame of a single photo, a content producer for social media sensation, Mathew Albrecht, discovers his possible ties to a global terrorist organisation. Could her client’s involvement also be linked to the death of her husband years earlier or is it something entirely more sinister in nature?

 

What is revealed may eclipse everything that she thought she knew, forcing her to confront the ghosts of her past in her pursuit of the truth.

 

Frame is a genre-bending thriller, set in a world poised on the brink of insanity.

 

 

My View:

I first read this remarkable narrative as a manuscript – I knew nothing of the author, or his style of writing or his track record but I was hooked from the moment I read these couple of sentences in synopsis; “Hidden in the frame of a single photo, a content producer for social media sensation, Mathew Albrecht, discovers his possible ties to a global terrorist organisation. Could her client’s involvement also be linked to the death of her husband years earlier or is it something entirely more sinister in nature?

 

Synchronicity was at work! In a previous life (as most of you will already know) I worked in the film and television industry, looking at images frame by frame…content producing… these terms/actions immediately connected and intrigued me. I had to read this and find out more.

 

And am I glad I took this opportunity? YES! This is an amazing read.  A thriller that is set in the future – but not too far in the future, in the foreseeable future – I can “see” the landscapes, the settings and the technology.

 

And technology is power – holders of this power can influence, control; domestically the power of social media dictates trends, projects individuals to celebrity status and a culture of hero worship by keyboard is encouraged. Politically, wars are won or lost based on control of information and technical fighting power. The landscapes created here are so real they make you feel uncomfortable.

 

The characters are vivid and realistic – I feel for the protagonist, Hannah – melancholy, trapped by a web of grief wound so tight she can hardly breathe…yet strong and resourceful and smart – a great female protagonist.

 

Love, grief, the importance of family, of emotional connections, ties that bind, are themes that are explored in depth in the novel. The words  love and family usually connatates positive emotions and responses but loss of love or the void death creates can also restrict, hold our emotional health to ransom and have the potential to destroy. Hope can empower and create change.  Ultimately  (no spoilers here) the lesson here is: Love Conquers All.

 

A meaningful and captivating read!

 

 

Advertisements

Goodreads Reading Challenge 2015

completed challenge

 

Congrats! You have read 200 books of a goal of 200!

Now that wasn’t so hard was it? It is the reviewing 200 books that is the hard work.

 

Post Script: The Gracekeepers – Kirsty Logan – Audio Book

Cover The Gracekeepers

The Grace Keepers

Kirsty Logan

Bolinda

Penguin Random House

ISBN: 9781101890585

9 hours 19 minutes

Description:

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

 

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

 

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

 

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

 

 

 

My View:

Dystopian, fantasy, Scottish myths and fairy tales – this audio book narrated by the author is lyrical, poetic and mesmerising. For me the greatest quality of this book was the narration – I could listen to Kirsty Logan read her works for ever. The accent, the gentleness, the gracefulness of her voice had me mesmerised. I have read reviews of the physical book and the reviewers has suggested listening to the audio book first – and I can understand why, Kirsty Logan’s voice adds a magical touch to this Celtic fairy tale.

 

Listen to an excerpt here: http://www.bolinda.com/audioexcerpts/9781486289295.mp3

 

Post Script: The Chimes – Anna Smaill

A book that defies labels and is a fantastic read.

The Chimes

The Chimes

Anna Smaill

Sceptre

Hodder & Stoughton

Hachette

ISBN: 9781444794533

 

Description:

The Chimes is set in a reimagined London, in a world where people cannot form new memories, and the written word has been forbidden and destroyed.

In the absence of both memory and writing is music.

In a world where the past is a mystery, each new day feels the same as the last, and before is blasphony, all appears lost. But Simon Wythern, a young man who arrives in London seeking the truth about what really happened to his parents, discovers he has a gift that could change all of this forever.

A stunning literary debut by poet and violinist Anna Smaill, The Chimes is a startlingly original work that combines beautiful, inventive

 

My View:

If anybody had pointed out to me that this novel was a dystopian read I may have thought twice about reading – I was under the false impression that I would not enjoy a dystopian novel, that the sci fi element would not be realistic or believable, the future would not be something I could relate to, I don’t know where that prejudice came from but it is there. I am glad no one pointed out the genre to me. With no knowledge of the author and after reading a limited “blurb” that hooked me with its allusion to a mystery and the seeking of truth; I picked up a book that defies labels and was a fantastic read.

This book is:

Unique

Enchanting

Mesmerising

Lyrical

Engaging

Poetic

And fascinating. I loved the rhythm, the beautifully written prose, the quest, the discoveries, the optimism and the relationships, the visual and melodic aspects of this book. I am so pleased I picked up this book and discovered this amazing read.