Post Script: Raising Boys in the 21st Century – Steve Biddulph

Raising-Boys-in-the-21st-Century_ Steve Biddulph cover art

Raising Boys in the 21st Century

Steve Biddulph

Finch Publishing

ISBN: 9780648100898

 

Description:

First published in 1995, Raising Boys was an instant bestseller and to date has sold over a million copies worldwide. Few books have stayed in the hearts and minds of parents everywhere as much as Raising Boys. Now in an increasingly complicated and nuanced world, raising boys to become emotionally strong, kind and resilient men is even more important and relevant. In response to calls from parents around the world Steve Biddulph has completely updated and revised his seminal work to include all the latest international information and advice for parents on all the key issues of today such as :

Gender

Brain and hormonal development including latest findings on testostetrone

Transgender/gay/sexuality development

Boys and crying

Boys and ‘bad’ behaviour

Reading and communication

Countering the effects of porn

Steve says:

Right now, the world badly needs good men. Your boy can be one of those who grow up so much better, and help to heal the world. Thank you for joining the boy revolution. As the 21st century rolls on, it’s badly needed. Enjoy your boy, love him well, and set him free to fly in his own special way.’

 

My View:

This book just make such sense (and has the science and psychology) to back it.  This is not just a book about raising boys, it is a book about raising happy, openhearted, strong, resilient children.  This book is a boon to all parents, grandparents, carers, teachers and anyone who has social interaction with boys. Read, listen, grow.

 

Advertisements

Post Script: Fortune’s Son – Jennifer Scoullar

Fortune's Son

Fortune’s Son

Jennifer Scoullar

Penguin Books Australia

Michael Joseph

ISBN: 9780143783527

 

Description:

An Australian historical saga that will appeal to readers of Bryce Courtenay and Judy Nunn

 

Can one man’s revenge become his redemption?

 

Young Luke Tyler has everything going for him: brains, looks and a larrikin charm that turns heads. The future appears bright, until he defends his sister from the powerful Sir Henry Abbot. His reward is fifteen years hard labour on a prison farm in Tasmania’s remote highlands.

 

Luke escapes, finding sanctuary with a local philanthropist, Daniel Campbell, and starts a forbidden relationship with Daniel’s daughter, Belle. But when Luke is betrayed, he must flee or be hanged.

 

With all seeming lost, Luke sails to South Africa to start afresh. Yet he remains haunted by the past, and by Belle, the woman he can’t forget. When he returns to seek revenge and reclaim his life, his actions will have shattering consequences – for the innocent as well as the guilty.

 

Set against a backdrop of wild Tasmania, Australian gold and African diamonds, Fortune’s Son is an epic story of betrayal, love and one man’s struggle to triumph over adversity and find his way home.

 

 

My View:

Jennifer Scoullar has recorded a new milestone – she has established herself as a writer of historical fiction with the publication of Fortune’s Son.  But do not fret those who have loved Jennifer’s previous works, with their environmental elements, their salute to the Australian bush and its wildlife and settings so vivid you can see them in your mind’s eye – all these elements are still woven into this multi layered, historical family saga.

 

What a delightful way to discover aspects of Australia’s colonial past and landscapes; convict labour, gold discoveries, mining, culture of the times, women’s rights, environmental issues teamed with an engaging narrative…so much to be discovered within the covers of this book.  Do I “see” a film or tv series here – yes I think so 🙂