Post Script: Sleeping in the Ground – Peter Robinson

Sleeping in the Ground

Sleeping in the Ground

DCI Banks #24

Peter Robinson

Hachette Australia

Hodder & Stoughton

ISBN: 9781444786927

 

Description:

The thrilling twenty-fourth instalment in Peter Robinson’s Number One bestselling Banks Series.

A shocking mass murder occurs at a wedding in a small Dales church and a huge manhunt follows. Eventually, the shooter is run to ground and things take their inevitable course.

But Banks is plagued with doubts as to exactly what happened outside the church that day, and why. Struggling with the death of his first serious girlfriend and the return of profiler Jenny Fuller into his life, Banks feels the need to dig deeper into the murders, and as he does so, he uncovers forensic and psychological puzzles that lead him to the past secrets that might just provide the answers he is looking for.

When the surprising truth becomes clear, it is almost too late.

 

My View:

I applaud Peter Robinson on his opening chapter – he has managed to put humanness, individuals, people… back into the narrative of mass murders, thrill/spree killings. Too often we view the landscape with the lens of a camera – we “see” reporting’s, documenting of such real life atrocities without emotion, as if the deaths and maiming are without consequence, without pain or effect on others.  “If the incident was a scene in a film, it would have looked beautiful. The violence would have taken place in elegantly choreographed silence and slow motion…but the way Terry Gilchrist saw it – and he was there –it was as swift as it was brutal…a crack…a dull thud, then a patch of blood spread over the bride’s chest. Her body arched… blood soaked white chiffon and lace, her mouth open, the scream forever struck in her throat…it was all finished in less than a minute. One of the fallen guests was moaning with pain. Nearby, a bridesmaid sat propped up against a gravestone crying, her hands pressed to her bloody midriff where something wet and shiny rested in her lap…” chapter 1

The introduction is bloody, brutal and honest. You cannot help but be affected by the sufferings here. Consequences are felt.

But don’t be put off by the graphic violence in this chapter – it serves it purpose well – it reminds us that people are suffering, it connects the reader with the brutal event and the survivors and the first chapter is the only truly gruesome scene in the book.  We read on to discover the motivation of the villain, we discover the long reaching effects of the crime, the effects on those attending the wedding – injured or not and the effects on those who have to deal with these types of situations – the medics, doctors, police… It is a shocking reminder that these type of events happen to real people, not to two dimensional characters on a screen.

 

Further the plot is nuanced with Banks’s personal experience of death and mourning (of a once close friend) as he reflects on life, death and love. Consequences of actions/reactions to events in the past are also explored in a meaningful way. This is a multi-layered narrative.

This is the twenty-fourth book in the DCI Banks series but it can easily be read as a standalone. The events that explode on the opening pages are familiar to all, the unravelling of the crime is an engaging and compelling reading.

Advertisements

Post Script: Hidden – Emma Kavanagh

Engaging, chilling, mesmerising. A read in one sitting novel.

Book cover Hidden Emma Kavanagh

Hidden

Emma Kavanagh

Random House UK, Cornerstone

Cornerstone Digital

ISBN: 9781448184576

 

Description:

A gripping psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson.

 

HE’S WATCHING

A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He’s unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently.

Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman – before it’s too late.

 

SHE’S WAITING

To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety – both for her, and her young niece who’s been recently admitted. She’s heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he?

As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman’s next target will be. But he’s there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks…

 

 

My View:

Last night I had the pleasure of reading an exciting and engaging book about a contemporary social issue and crime that is becoming more prevalent in our modern world – the spree killing. The first few pages hook you as you find yourself in the middle of a massacre; blood pooling across the floor, death and carnage racing to meet you. A brilliant hook – you cannot wait to learn what had happened, who is responsible and the answer to the big question, WHY?

And so the narrative begins. Each chapter is narrated by one of the main characters in this drama, including the Shooter. The novel is cunningly written to provide you with many a red herring that will lead you down twisty paths to… nowhere. You will think you have worked it out, you will place his/her name into chapters narrated by “ The Shooter” – and they will make sense…for a while… in fact I changed my mind about the culprit about 3 times during the course of the narrative but at no time did I actually realise who the actual shooter really was.

This is an absorbing psychological drama guaranteed to please.