Post Script: Web of Deceit – Katherine Howell

Picture

Web of Deceit

Katherine Howell

Pan Macmillan Australia

ISBN: 9781742610306

Description:

When paramedics Jane and Alex encounter a man refusing to get out of his crashed car with bystanders saying he deliberately drove into a pole, it looks like a cry for help. His claim that someone is out to get him adds to their thinking that he is delusional.

Later that day he is found dead under a train in what might be a suicide, but Jane is no longer so sure: she remembers the terror in his eyes.

Detective Ella Marconi shares Jane’s doubts, which are only compounded when the case becomes increasingly tangled. The victim’s boss tries to commit suicide when being questioned, a witness flees their attempt to interview her and a woman is beaten unconscious in front of Jane’s house.

Ella is at a loss to know how all these clues add up and then a shocking turn of events puts even more people in danger…

My View:

I like Australian crime writers who write clever, well structured, intricate plots with well developed and empathetic protagonists and I am now a fan of Katherine Howell – why haven’t I heard this name before in Australian Literature? I will certainly be adding her to my list of authors to seek out.

Web of Deceit is a story told from two points of view – from the perspectives of a female detective – Ella Marconi and paramedics Alex and Jane working in metropolitan Sydney. What appear to be two competing story lines in fact are revealed to be one – a complicated and involved story of lies and deceit, of fear and retribution; on the surface the waters appear calm and innocuous but there is lots happening under the water.  Treachery is everywhere – it is not reserved for the “street” or the criminal underworld; it is in the workplace, which has become a time management, penny pinching environment where outcomes and not people matter (haven’t we all worked for places/people like this at some point?), where the climb up the greasy pole is the utmost importance – to some – but not to Ella, Alex and Jane. Treachery is in the home – where relationships are tested and deceit – by omission or by lie effect all.   Howell cleverly demonstrates that life is complicated, relationships are tricky and need effort and mostly, we are all just trying to do our best, the emphasis on mostly.

This narrative is complex with well written; an enthralling sequence of events, of coincidences (or are they?) and of consequences that culminate in one moment of terror.  The main characters are appealing, likable,  I loved the city street-scapes, the reality of lives – the familiar and the fly on the wall observations of others work and routines.  Howell presents a story of intrigue that is guaranteed to have you staying up late so as to finish this book.

 

17 thoughts on “Post Script: Web of Deceit – Katherine Howell

  1. Pingback: 2013 AWW Challenge Wrap-up: Crime, Mystery, Thriller and Suspense | Australian Women Writers Challenge

  2. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your blog page,
    I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot
    for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot
    more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

  3. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of
    the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a number of websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import
    all my wordpress posts into it? Any kind of help would
    be greatly appreciated!

  4. I think that what you posted was actually very reasonable.
    But, what about this? suppose you typed a catchier title?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you added something that makes people desire more?
    I mean Post Script: Web of Deceit – Katherine Howell | Reading, Writing and Riesling
    is a little plain. You should look at Yahoo’s front page and see
    how they create news titles to get people to click. You might add a video
    or a related picture or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got
    to say. In my opinion, it could bring your posts
    a little bit more interesting.

  5. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone
    and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with
    someone!

  6. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this
    website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  7. Pingback: 2013 AWW Challenge Wrap-up: Crime, Mystery, Thriller and Suspense | New Australian Women Writers Challenge Blog

  8. Hi Carol, I just finished the 1st Ella Marconi book Frantic. Just loved it. I thought I would see which ones of hers you had reviewed & came across this one. Glad to read that her series has remained strong. Not sure where W of D fits in but i’m off to Fantastic Fiction to find out what #2 is called so that i can hunt that one down. Let me know if you’ve read any others in this series.
    Happy Reading!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.